Computational Chemistry and Structure Analysis, 2009

Beräkningskemi och Strukturanalys

7.5 cr, 15 students, 28 h lectures and 28 h excersises.

Course scheme 2009

  Day Time Title Lecturer Room
Tue Oct 27 08.15-10.00 INTRODUCTION KEB K:H
Thu Oct 29 08.15-10.00 Magnetic Resonance KEB K:H
Tue Nov 3 08.15-10.00 Relaxation & 13C KEB K:H
Thu Nov 5 08.15-10.00 Spin-spin coupling KEB K:H
Tue Nov 10 08.15-10.00 The NMR experiment KEB K:H
Thu Nov 12 08.15-10.00 2D NMR spectroscopy KEB K:R
Fri Nov 13 10.15-12.00 1:st Assessm. NMR-lab KEB K:H
Tue Nov 17 08.15-10.00 X-Ray Diffraction OW K:H
Thu Nov 19 08.15-10.00 Comput.chem. group A AS Comp.lab Org.Chem.
Fri Nov 20 10.15-12.00 Comput.chem. group B AS Comp.lab Org.Chem.
Tue Nov 24 08.15-10.00 + 2h Comput.chem. Lab group A AS Comp.lab Org.Chem.
Thu Nov 26 08.15-10.00 + 2h Comput.chem. Lab group B AS Comp.lab Org.Chem.
Fri Nov 27 10.15-12.00 NOESY exp. + NMR-lab KEB K:I
Tue Dec 1 08.15-10.00 2:nd Assesm. NMR-lab KEB K:H
Thu Dec 3 08.15-10.00   KEB K:H
Fri Dec 4 10.15-12.00 Structure Analysis (special schedule) KEB+AS  
Tue Dec 8 08.15-10.00 Structure Analysis (special schedule) KEB+AS  
Thu Dec 10 08.15-10.00 Structure Analysis (special schedule) KEB+AS  
Fri Dec 11 10.15-12.00 Structure Analysis (special schedule) KEB+AS  
           

Lecturers

Karl-Erik Bergquist (KEB), Lecturer, tel 046-2228208

Anders Sundin (AS)

Ola Wendt (OW)

Sekreteriat: Maria Levin, tel 046-222 8210, fax 046 222 8209

General information

Coordinator
Karl-Erik Bergquist
Language
The course will be given in Engish this year
Textbook
Pavia, Lampman, Kriz; Introduction to spectroscopy (3rd edition). Harcourt College Publisher, 2001. ISBN 0-03-031961-7
The scope of the course
The scope of the course is defined by the textbook. The lectures are meant to facilitate the general understanding of structure analysis.
Course requirements
In order to understand the principles for structure determination of organic compounds it is necessary to describe them as structures, and basic knowledge in organic chemistry is important.
Examination
Continuous assessment based on practical assignments.

Litterature:

Hornak (web) The basics of NMR

Bruker (pdf) NMR Lecture

FAQ:s